An Open Letter to the Bully at Work…

June 25, 2011

Dear Sir or Madam,

I am pleased to inform you, although you may regret to know that your reign of terror will soon come to an end. You see, for the last several months to several years, you have made my environment at work a living hell. When I came to work for you I had the best of intentions. I planned to do the best job for your company and for your department. I planned to move forward in my career.  I knew you were tough but I had no idea you were going to push me almost to my breaking point. You are knowledgeable and if you weren’t a bully with such a strong desire to control me, you would be an extraordinary person and a pleasure to work with. 

I wasn’t with your company for very long before the write-ups and counselings began. I can accept a write up or a counseling because they are really supposed to be a tool that will help me improve my preformance but when YOU write me up for something that YOU or other employees do, it just doesn’t make a whole lot of sense to me. Surely you aren’t trying to imply that I am bound by a different set of rules.

Not long after the write ups and counselings began you started making smart comments to embarrass me in front of my co-workers and my subordinates. You schedule all meetings for my days off so I will have to drive in to hear you gripe for two hours about how we aren’t doing this right. When you met my new employees you started “getting onto me” in front of them. You know, you are only as successful as your department.  How can you expect my subordinates to respect me when you clearly don’t? You openly undermine any authority I have. How can you justify reprimanding me infront of my subordinates. What makes it worse is that I feel so uncomfortable around you that the presence of my employees actually make me feel better. This is wrong. I have given 110% mentally, physically and emotionally to my job while at work only to have you shut me down. You have not payed me enough. When I was promoted you made it a point to make sure that I didn’t get paid what others in my same level of management were getting. You refuse to train me and when you finally get to it, you scold me to the point that I believe I can’t do my job.

You know that my job requires my workers to meet our deadlines. You know that you have the authority to pull my workers any time you wish. Unfortunantly, you are selfish and your need for control takes presidence over the needs of the department and the company. You purposely sabotage my work then reprimand me for taking longer than needed to meet our deadline. You do this on purpose because you want to bring me into your office and lecture me for 30 minutes at a time then give me 5 minutes to do what I should have been doing in that time you were lecturing me. You just want control. You are a hateful, manipulative person and you have targeted me because I am capable and you feel threatened. You have no need to target the other employees in the department who fail to pull their share of the weight because they will never be where you are and you know it.

You have screamed at me and caused me to break into tears in the work place. Why should work be so painful that one is brought to tears?  You have stood and glared at me and complained to me when you should have complained to the employee who wasn’t pulling her share of the weight. You have yelled at me and reprimanded me infront of my employees. You have cheated others to save your budget.  You have called me stupid. You have threatened me and you have even physically assualted me. You have cursed at me and you have threatened to fire me numerous times. I am constantly searching for another job. When I get to the point that I just can’t take it anymore, or when you fire me I will have something to fall back on. I have requested to leave the department and although you said “yes”, your actions say “no” because you keep putting it off. You have put me in a position that has made everyone dislike me. I feel isolated. I have been depressed, had anxiety, nightmares and have even contemplate suicide. I cry on my way to work and on my way home.

Everyone is nice to you to your face because they are afraid or intimidated by you. The others just like you because you don’t target them and treat them like crap like you do me. People can’t believe that you treat your employees the way that you do and for some reason, people who don’t have anything to lose for standing up to you won’t do it. 

I am going to live.  I am strong and there is nothing that you or anyone else for that matter can do about it. I am going to persevere. It would be in your best interest to find some help. In time, you will be held accountable for your behavior.     

+++++++++++++++++++

One Response to “An Open Letter to the Bully at Work…”

Leave a Reply

