Will you please do your job???

July 21, 2011

Have you ever had one of those days where you feel like you are pulling a semi with only a strap. I did that yesterday. My semi was loaded with food for over 1000 people and my co-workers were in the front seat of that semi putting on the brakes. Sometimes, I think it would be nice if my manager could see my day through my eyes.

There were several of us working together. The people who worked with me are “senior” to me in our “pecking order.” Anytime my boss wanted something done, he came to me. “This needs to be done. That needs to be done.” So, I started ordering (in a nice and respectful way) my co-workers. I was like, “Can we do this right quick?” “Sure, they replied..” And gradually the work our boss wanted got done. I think I’m due for a promotion. From now on, every time my boss tells me to do something, I’m going to tell my co-workers to do it. I’m going to start ordering them around… in a nice way, of course. 

I love my boss. He is such a fun individual to work with although he has high expectations for his employees. His weakness is that he allows some employees go get away with not performing their jobs to such an extent and others have to fill the gap. I’m the “others” referred to in the last sentence. I’m going to start asking him to get them to do their job. I’m going to ask in a way that doesn’t make me out to be a complainer… “Hey, will you get so-n-so to do this, Hey, will you get so-n-so to do that?” or perhaps, “Do you mind if I tell so-n-so that you want them to do this or that since it should have been done 2 hours ago and … um… I’m just now clocking in… ”

I may do it just to see what kind of response I get from my co-workers and my boss. The end result is that my boss will see the work completed.. my co-workers will actually have to get something done and I might not have to feel like I’m pulling a semi filled with tons of food and my co-workers putting on the brakes…

Leave a Reply

