Am I Valuable???

August 15, 2016

I often wonder if I will ever succeed at something. In the last day or so, it hit me that in the next two years, I will turn 50 years of age and I am still working in an entry-level position. I don’t have a career. I have a job.  I do not feel valuable.

Although, I am in college (online) and I am working towards a career I am continually stuck in the beginning phases. I have always wanted a degree and a career so I could earn enough to retire and travel the world. I also want to help people. I always try to lift others up but there are times where I feel put down. If there is ever a time that I can move up in a career, I don’t want to make anyone who works for me feel as though they are beneath me.

It is hard not to feel like a failure at my age. People my age are CEO s and are in their prime. They are Doctors and Professors. They are Sheriffs and Fire Chiefs. They work the hours they want to because there are those like me in entry-level positions working the hours they do not have to. These people are making a difference. I know that I make a difference in a small way but I do not feel valuable. I know that I can not go back and start over and hindsight is surely 20/20. I can, however warn my younger readers.

Get your education while you are young and before you have children. You will be freed up to study and learn. If you have small children, find a way to get your education. There is nothing wrong with being a stay at home parent if your spouse is working but both of you get your education.

The struggle is real. This is no joke. I am feeling inadequate in my job/career life right now and I want something good to come out of it. I pray someone who is young and pondering their life and career will take my words into consideration.

Everyone has a purpose. No one should weigh self-worth or value by their job or career but many of us do.

In order to change my feelings of inadequacy, I will continue in school, do my best to learn and get the highest grade I can. I will do my best at work and I will try to keep a good attitude by helping as many people as I can. I will try to make work easier for my co-workers and supervisors so I can at least be of some value all though I do not feel that I am.

We will see what happens…

Leave a Reply

