How Do I Say No?

August 28, 2016

How do I say No? That is a good question. I’ve been told I am too nice in certain circumstances. I should not allow myself to feel sorry for people so I have to find a way to say “no” instead of yes. Besides, they do not feel in the least bit sorry for me.

I can play the “what if” game. This is a game played by people who work in corrections. I work in corrections and allowing the slightest infraction can cost me more than anything. I know one thing. “No” is about to be my new best friend. After a while, I doubt I will have to worry about anyone asking for anything anyway because they will know my answer. No.

How to say “No” by Anita Vaughn

No.

Inmate “Can I…”

Me “No.”

I’m in a bad habit of not saying “no.” That habit is about to get broke and broke quick. I guess I was afraid people would not like or respect me. I’ve been this way for years. There has always been a line. I would never do anything illegal or immoral. Now the line is much closer. Nothing or no one is worth what is precious to me and what I worked so hard for.

I’ve been doing some research and I discovered that I am an empathetic person. God help me. I think it is ok to be empathetic but I know I can carry it too far. Needless to say, I am praying for God to give me His wisdom and boldness to do what is right.

My empathy is shrinking. Rapidly.

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “How Do I Say No?”

  1. Brenda said

    Life is about balance. It’s okay to say “yes” sometimes, it’s okay to say “no” at other times. The tricky part is knowing when to say yes, when to say no. Like anything in life, it’s a balance. Eating, finances, work, exercise, friends. There has to be a balance or something feels “off balance.”

Leave a Reply

